
 
  May 4, 2020 
 
 
TO:  ALL LIQUOR LICENSEES 

                           
FROM:  FRANKLIN DON PACARRO, JR., ADMINISTRATOR 
 
SUBJECT: ANNUAL LIQUOR LICENSE RENEWAL FOR FISCAL YEAR 2021 (FY21) 

(July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021)  

 
The COVID-19 pandemic has definitely changed how we live and work.  In these unusual times, 
we know there are various ramifications for many of you in the liquor industry, but please know 
that we are here to work with you.  Some changes for the FY21 license renewal include: 

 a) Extending the license renewal deadline to Friday, June 26, 2020: 

 For complete application packets received on or before June 19, 2020:  
we will mail your license to your mailing address on file 

 For complete application packets received after June 19, 2020: you must 
pick-up your license from our office (allow for 2 business days before 
picking up your license) 

 b) Waiving the 2.35% credit card service fee, if paying by credit card 

 c) Using our online system, also known as the Liquor Commission Information System  
  (LCIS) to renew your FY21 liquor license.  It will save you time!  For those unable to  
  submit online, we still accept renewal documents by mail or in person. 

 

SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING RENEWAL APPLICATION PACKET BY JUNE 26, 2020: 

□ FY21 Liquor License Renewal Application 
□ Annual License Fee payment  
□ Certificate of Insurance (COI) in effect on July 1, 2020 
□ Certificate of Good Standing (COGS) printed within 60 days of filing; OR 

Hawaii Compliance Express (HCE) Certificate of Vendor Compliance print out  
□ State of Hawaii Tax Clearance 

 Pre-Tax Clearance document from the State of Hawaii Department of Taxation 
(DOTAX); OR 

 An original or certified DOTAX Form A-6; OR 

 A current DOTAX payment plan; OR  

 HCE Certificate of Vendor Compliance print out 
□ Payment of outstanding fines, fees, or other charges, if any 
□ Submittal of outstanding financial reports due to the HLC, if any 

We thank you for your patience and understanding as we work through our challenges together.  
Please e-mail us at liq-licensing@honolulu.gov if you have any questions. 
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  Rev. 05/04/2020 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR ONLINE RENEWAL (USING LCIS) 

1) Register as a new user, if you haven’t already done so. 
a) View the LCIS Information Page to get the proper form 
b) Print, sign, and email your completed form to:  LCIS@honolulu.gov  
c) Receive a temporary password to access your account once we confirm all your information  
 

2) Once you are registered, view the step-by-step instructions at our LCIS Information Page 
 

3) Complete the online Liquor License Renewal Application, and submit the following documents: 
 
a) Certificate of Insurance (COI).  $1,000,000 Liquor Liability insurance coverage in effect July 1, 

2020.  Not required for license classes:  1 (Manufacturer), 3 (Wholesaler), 7 (Vessel), 9 (Tour/Cruise 
Vessel), and class 4 (only if the Retail store is less than 2,500 sq. ft.). 
 

b) Certificate of Good Standing (COGS).  Dated within 60 days of filing application.  May be 
purchased online at:  http://cca.hawaii.gov/breg/.  Not required for Sole Proprietor. 
 

c) State of Hawaii Tax Clearance.  The FY21 Pre-Tax Clearance document from DOTAX (mailed to 
you by DOTAX); OR a certified DOTAX Form A-6; OR a current DOTAX payment plan. 
 

d) * Hawaii Compliance Express (HCE) Certificate of Vendor Compliance.  A “Compliant” status 
from the Hawaii Dept. of Commerce & Consumer Affairs and/or the State of Hawaii Dept. of Taxation, 
may be submitted in lieu of the Certificate of Good Standing (item b) and the Pre-Tax Clearance form 
(item c).  Go to: https://vendors.ehawaii.gov/hce/splash/welcome.html to create an online account. 
Please allow 2-3 weeks to receive a response by email. 
 

e) Payment.  You may use your VISA/MasterCard/Discover (the 2.35% service fee will be waived). 
 

4) A LICENSE WILL NOT BE ISSUED if there are discrepancies; missing payment(s) or document(s); 
unpaid fines, fees, or miscellaneous charges; and/or outstanding or unfiled Gross Liquor Sales (GLS) 
reports. 
 

5) WHO IS AUTHORIZED TO SIGN: 
 
a) Only corporate/club officers or directors, member(s)/manager(s) of a member-managed LLC, or 

general partners of a partnership on file with the HLC may sign/approve. 
 

b) Form LIQ-LIC-106 (Notification of Authorized Agent) or a copy of a Power-of-Attorney (POA) is 
required for anyone other than the above to sign.   

 
6) CHANGES TO OWNERS/OFFICERS:  The addition or deletion of Officers/Directors/ 25%+Stockholders/ 

LLC-Member(s) or Manager(s) or Partner(s), must be reported to the HLC within thirty (30) days of 
occurrence. 
 
Use Checklist 017 (Change of Corporate or Club Officer/Director or LLC, Partnership or Unincorporated 
Association/Member/Manager/Partner) and submit the required forms to make necessary changes. 
 

7) IF YOU ARE NOT RENEWING your liquor license, select “License NOT RENEWED” no later than  
 June 26, 2020.  Licensee must still submit Gross Liquor Sales (GLS) Report for FY20 (for liquor sales 
 made July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020) due by July 31, 2020. 

 
8) TO UPDATE YOUR ADDRESS, PHONE # OR OTHER CONTACT INFORMATION: 

 
Use Form LIQ-LIC-134 (Request to Change Licensee Trade Name (DBA) / Corporate / LLC / Partnership 
Address or Other Contact Information) and email the completed form to liq-licensing@honolulu.gov. 
 

9) ALL HLC FORMS AVAILABLE ON OUR WEBSITE AT: http://www.honolulu.gov/liq/formsdocuments.html 
 

Any questions?  Please e-mail:  liq-licensing@honolulu.gov 
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  Rev. 05/04/2020 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR RENEWAL BY MAIL OR IN PERSON 

1) SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING: 
a) Original, signed Liquor License Renewal Application (green form).  Include your contact phone 

number and e-mail address to resolve outstanding issues. 
 
b) Payment.  Business check payable to “City and County of Honolulu.”  Payment by cash or 

VISA/MasterCard/Discover is accepted at the HLC front counter during business hours.  The 2.35% 
service fee will be waived for FY21 renewal. 

 
c) Certificate of Insurance (COI).  $1,000,000 Liquor Liability insurance coverage in effect July 1, 

2020.  Not required for license classes:  1 (Manufacturer), 3 (Wholesaler), 7 (Vessel), 9 (Tour/Cruise 
Vessel), and class 4 (only if the Retail store is less than 2,500 sq. ft.). 
 

d) * Certificate of Good Standing (COGS).  Dated within 60 days of filing application.  May be 
purchased online at:  http://cca.hawaii.gov/breg/.  Not required for Sole Proprietor. 
 

e) * State of Hawaii Tax Clearance.  The FY21 Pre-Tax Clearance document from DOTAX (mailed to 
you by DOTAX); OR a certified DOTAX Form A-6; OR a current DOTAX payment plan. 
 

f) * Hawaii Compliance Express (HCE) Certificate of Vendor Compliance.  A “Compliant” status 
from the Hawaii Dept. of Commerce & Consumer Affairs and/or the State of Hawaii Dept. of Taxation, 
may be submitted in lieu of the Certificate of Good Standing (item d) and the Pre-Tax  Clearance form 
(item e).  Go to: https://vendors.ehawaii.gov/hce/splash/welcome.html to create an online account. 
Please allow 2-3 weeks to receive a response by email. 

 
2) A LICENSE WILL NOT BE ISSUED if there are discrepancies; missing payment(s) or document(s); 

unpaid fines, fees, or miscellaneous charges; and/or outstanding or unfiled Gross Liquor Sales (GLS) 
reports. 
 

3) WHO IS AUTHORIZED TO SIGN: 
a) Only corporate/club officers or directors, member(s)/manager(s) of a member-managed LLC, or 

general partners of a partnership on file with the HLC may sign. 
 
b) Form LIQ-LIC-106 (Notification of Authorized Agent) or a copy of a Power-of-Attorney (POA) is 

required for anyone other than the above to sign.   
 

4) CHANGES TO OWNERS/OFFICERS:  The addition or deletion of 
Officers/Directors/25%+Stockholders/LLC-Member(s) or Manager(s) or Partner(s), must be reported to 
the HLC within thirty (30) days of occurrence. 
 
Use Checklist 017 (Change of Corporate or Club Officer/Director or LLC, Partnership or Unincorporated 
Association/Member/Manager/Partner) and submit the required forms to make necessary changes.  
 

5) TO UPDATE YOUR ADDRESS, PHONE # OR OTHER CONTACT INFORMATION: 
 
Use Form LIQ-LIC-134 (Request to Change Licensee Trade Name (DBA) / Corporate / LLC / Partnership 
Address or Other Contact Information) and email the completed form to liq-licensing@honolulu.gov 

 
6) IF YOU ARE NOT RENEWING your liquor license, return your renewal application (green form) by  

June 26, 2020, unsigned with an attached letter signed by an officer, member or authorized agent stating 
the license will not be renewed and include your contact information.  Licensee must still submit Gross 
Liquor Sales (GLS) Report for FY20 (for liquor sales made July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020) due by July 31, 
2020. 
 

7) ALL HLC FORMS AVAILABLE ON OUR WEBSITE AT: http://www.honolulu.gov/liq/formsdocuments.html 
 
 

Any questions?  Please e-mail:  liq-licensing@honolulu.gov 
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