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LIQUOR LICENSE RENEWAL 
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ) 

 
 
1. What are the important deadline dates to remember?  
 

May 31st Deadline for mail out requests and over the counter pick-up at the Honolulu Liquor 
Commission; June 30th Deadline to file a signed renewal application and annual fee payment for 
the liquor license to remain active. All required documents to renew the liquor license must be 
filed and outstanding fines paid in order to issue the liquor license. Your current liquor license 
will expire at 12 midnight on June 30, 2016. To continue to purchase and/or sell liquor, 
your liquor license must be renewed, and posted/displayed at the licensed premises on 
July 1, 2016.  

  
2. What do I do if I did not receive or lost my liquor license renewal application?  
 

E-mail liq-licensing@honolulu.gov and include: 1) your liquor license number; 2) trade name or 
dba (doing business as); 3) mailing address; and 4) your name and phone number.  We will 
contact you to verify the information, then make arrangements to have your renewal application 
mailed or picked-up from our office, located at:  711 Kapiolani Boulevard., Suite 600.  If a change 
in mailing address is required, complete a change of mailing address (form LIQ-LIC-134) or 
submit a letter signed by the licensee, owner, director, member, or authorized agent registered 
with the HLC. 

 
3. What do I do if I did not receive the State of Hawaii Department of Taxation (DOTAX) and/or the 

Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Pre-Tax Clearance forms? 
 

If you did not receive a Pre-Tax Clearance forms from either DOTAX and/or the IRS, you will 
need to contact the respective agency and inquire if there are any outstanding issues that need to 
be addressed and resolved.  

 
The Pre-Tax Clearance forms to renew your liquor license will NOT BE re-issued.  If only one 
Pre-Tax Clearance form is received, you will need to obtain a DOTAX Form A6 with the missing 
agency’s stamp. An original stamped or certified copy of Hawaii State Tax Clearance Form A-6 
must be submitted to renew your liquor license. Form A-6 is available on line at 
http://www.state.hi.us/tax/current/a6.pdf.  It is valid for 6 months from the earliest date issued 
either by DOTAX or the IRS. The stamps must be legible.  Photo copies will NOT be accepted. 

 
4. What do I do if the information on the liquor license renewal application is incorrect? 
 

a. LICENSEE TRADE NAME/DBA & MAILING ADDRESS CHANGES – You must file form    
LIQ-LIC-134 with your renewal application. The form is available on the HLC web site 
www.honolulu.gov/liq. 

 
b. CORPORATE OFFICER(S), LLC MEMBER(S) or TITLE CHANGES - Strike out the full 

name of the officer or member to be deleted. Strike out the old title (President, Vice-
president, Treasurer, Secretary or Member) and write in the new title.  For the addition of new 
officer(s) or member(s) you must:  1) file form LIQ-LIC-103 or LIQ-LIC-104 and attach it to the 
renewal application; 2) file an original notarized Personal History and Affidavit (PHA); and  
3) file an original completed Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center (HCJDC) search application 
for each new officer, 25%+ stockholder, or member.   

 
NOTE: Notification of a change in officer(s) or member(s) must be filed within 30 days of the 
change.  The information filed with the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs (DCCA) 
should match the HLC records.  Go to the HLC web site at www.honolulu.gov/liq for a Personal 
History and Affidavit (PHA) and Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center (HCJDC) search application 
and instructions or e-mail liq-licensing@honolulu.gov. 
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5. What if there was a corporate stock percentage or member interest share change?  

 
Strike out the stock percentage or interest share amount and write in the correct new amount. 
Request a Stock Transfer application packet via e-mail at liq-licensing@honolulu.gov or leave a 
message at (808) 768-7323.  Please initial all changes. 
 
NOTE: Notification of a change in certain stock transfers must be approved by the             
Honolulu Liquor Commission prior to the transfer of stock. 
 

6. Who can sign the renewal application?   
  

Only an officer, member or authorized agent registered with the HLC may sign the application. 
Letters of authorization are valid for one year from either the date received by the HLC or date of 
the letter – whichever is received first. You must file form LIQ-LIC-106 or provide a Power of 
Attorney (POA).  Please provide contact information for verification by the HLC. 
 

  
7. Can I still file a renewal application if I don’t have my tax clearance and/or proof of $1,000,000 Liquor 

liability insurance?  
 

YES.  A DOTAX Form A-6, Pre-tax clearance form(s) and/or proof of a $1,000,000 in Liquor 
liability insurance coverage (Certificate of Insurance) in effect on July 1st may be filed separately; 
however, filing separately may delay the issuance of your liquor license.  

 
8. I am a Class 4 (Retail Dealer) licensee.  Am I required to submit a certificate of $1,000,000 in Liquor 

liability insurance coverage? 
 

Currently, a Class 4 (Retail license) may fall within the definition of “convenience store” in  
§21-5.160, Revised Ordinances of Honolulu (ROH) 1990 and would NOT be required to submit 
proof of insurance coverage.  Generally, if the floor area of your premises is less than 2,500 
square feet, you would be considered a “convenience store” within § 21-5.160, ROH 1990, and 
would NOT be required to submit proof of Liquor liability insurance coverage.  

 
9. How long will it take before I receive my new liquor license?  
   

Upon submission of the completed/signed renewal application, all required supporting 
documents, payment of the annual fee and any monies due to the HLC, and any outstanding 
financial reports (if any) filed, renewed licenses will be available June 16th through July 31st at the 
HLC.   

 
10. How do I obtain a Certificate of Good Standing (COGS)?  
  

The Certificate of Good Standing (COGS) not more than 60 days old from the renewal application 
filing date is required.  The COGS may be obtained in person at the Hawaii State Department of 
Commerce and Consumer Affairs (DCCA) at the King Kalakaua Building (a.k.a. United States 
Post Office Custom House and Court House) at 335 Merchant Street. Please go to the DCCA 
website http://dcca.hawaii.gov for more information on how to obtain a COGS online, hours of 
operation and directions to the agency.  (NOTE: A Sole-Proprietor of a liquor license is not 
required to submit a COGS.) 
 

 
PLEASE NOTE THAT THE LICENSEE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR  

MAKING COPIES OF ALL FILED DOCUMENTS. 
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