LIQUOR COMMISSION

CITY AND COUNTY OF HONOLULU
711 KAPIOLANI BOULEVARD, SUITE 600, HONOLULU, HAWAII 96813-5249
PHONE (808) 768-7300 + EMAIL lig-licensing@honolulu.gov
INTERNET ADDRESS: www.honolulu.gov/lig

HRS Section 281-33.1 and Rule 3-82-33.1

How to receive shipments of alcohol products on Oahu, Hawaii for personal consumption.

To receive shipments of alcohol products for personal consumption, your must obtain a Permit from the
Honolulu Liquor Commission (HLC). Complete the “Permits A,B,C,D Receiving Shipments of Liquor” form#
LIQ-LIC-112 available online at http://www.honolulu.gov/lig/formsdocuments.html#license permit_forms or at
our office (711 Kapiolani Blvd., Suite 600). There are four (4) different types of permits however it is likely that
you'll obtain either Permit A or Permit C. No permit or approval needed to receive 6 bottles (750 ml each or
0.198 of a gallon each) or less.

Each Permit is processed and issued in person at the HLC office. Permit Application form(s) and required
documents should be submitted prior to the shipment of alcohol products arriving in Honolulu, Hawaii. Once
the Permit(s) are issued, the applicant must provide the approval document to their assigned mover/shipper in
Honolulu who will then obtain the approval for the alcohol shipment to be released and delivered to the
customer’s residence.

Applicant must provide the following documents:
O Completed Permit Application form (one form for each type of permit request).

(Form #LIQ-LIC-112 “Permits A,B,C,D Receiving Shipments of Liquor”)
Only one type of permit allowed per calendar year. (Example: Applicant could have both Permits A and C

in the same year, however cannot have two Permit A’s in the same year.)
U Copy of the shipping documents listing all alcohol products.
U Copy of itemized list of all alcohol products including the total of number of bottles and U.S. gallons.

Please categorize your alcohol products by type (i.e., Liquor, Beer, Wine, Sake, etc.), number of bottles
and convert metric to U.S. gallons prior to submitting your request.

U $18 fee (per permit) — Pay in person with Cash or Credit Card (VISA/MasterCard/Discover plus service fee)
Or mail Check to: Honolulu Liquor Commission
City & County of Honolulu
711 Kapiolani Blvd. #600
Honolulu, HI 96813
U Copy of Military Orders to relocate to Oahu (State of Hawaii, City & County of Honolulu), if applicable.

The applicant must provide a set of copies of the above documents for each Permit applying for. If the
applicant requests for photocopies printed at the HLC office, the charge is 50 cents for the first copy, 25 cents
thereafter per page.

The processing time for Permits A, B, C, and D is one full business day. Under some circumstances, we may
be able to issue the Permit(s) at the time the applicant submits their application form and required documents.

Please see the following page for a description of Permits A, B, C, and D.

Check out our website at www.honolulu.gov for further information or contact Licensing & Permitting.
Phone: (808)768-7323
Email: lig-licensing@honolulu.gov

Thank you. Note: See following page for Permit descriptions.
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Permit Descriptions:

Permit A to receive a single shipment of a product from outside of the State, not to exceed 5 gallons.

Pursuant to and subject to the provisions of Section 281-33.1(a) of the Hawaii Revised Statutes, and
applicable to any Rule of the Liquor Commission, | hereby request a permit to receive a single shipment of a
product from outside of the State, not to exceed five gallons (19 liters) per calendar year, for use and
consumption of my household and not for sale in any form.

¢ Commonly issued permit, used to receive a single shipment of liquor from out of State.
e Maximum 5 gallons = 19,000 mL (or approximately 25 bottles, 750 mL each).
e Any type of liquor.

Permit B to receive an unsolicited gift shipment of liquor, not to exceed 3.2 gallons.

Pursuant to and subject to the provisions of Section 281-33.1(b) of the Hawaii Revised Statutes, and
applicable to any Rule of the Liquor Commission, | hereby request a permit to receive an unsolicited gift
shipment of liquor, not to exceed 3.2 gallons (12 liters) from outside of the State for use and consumption of
my household and not for sale in any form. (Liquor authorized by this permit may be available for sale in
the State.)

¢ Permit used to receive liquor as a gift from out of State.
e Maximum 3.2 gallons = 12,160 mL (or approximately 16 bottles, 750 mL each).
e Any type of liquor.

Permit C to receive household goods, including Military.

Pursuant to and subject to the provisions of Section 281-33.1 (c) of the Hawaii Revised Statutes, and to any
applicable rule or regulation of the Liquor Commission, | hereby request a permit to import from outside the

State of Hawaii for my personal use and not for resale. The following product/s was originally acquired and

stored outside the State of Hawaii and presently forms part of my household goods.

¢ Commonly issued permit, used when military or other households relocate to Oahu, Hawaii.
¢ Unlimited amount of fruit based liquors or other liquor capable of aging (wine in the process of being
made).

Permit D to receive a shipment of wine and/or beer available in State, received from out of State.

Pursuant to and subject to the provisions of Section 281-33.1(d) of the Hawaii Revised Statutes, and
applicable to any Rule of the Liquor Commission, | hereby request permission to receive a shipment of wine
and/or beer, otherwise available in the State, from outside of the State for use and consumption of my
household and not for sale in any form. (*The fee shall be equal to the tax that would be imposed by section
244D-4 upon the use of liquor.)

o Rarely issued permit, used to receive a shipment of wine and/or beer already available on Oahu.

¢ No limited amount.
e Liguor tax imposed per section 244D-4.
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